Do you remember Mar-Lin-Do Lanes?

13 Dec

It was at 1600 North San Fernando Blvd. in Burbank, where San Fernando makes the curve and heads toward the I-5 Freeway. It closed on August 31, 1984, to give way to an apartment complex. The photos you see here were from the last evening of its existence. We begged the new owner to change his mind, but he wouldn’t budge. So we pressured him to, at the very least, name his new apartments the Marlindo Apartments. This is a tribute to the Burbank landmark where many of us spent most of our free time. If you were to drop in on just about any evening, you’d see us, Joe Veraldi, Kevin Kelly and Don Ray keeping score for both the early and the late bowling leagues. We’d take in $5 plus a Coke or two for each of the leagues. And while we kept score, we did our homework. On Saturdays mornings, we’d bowl in the Junior League and then jump in Kevin and John Kelly’s mother’s tank Cadillac and head off to represent Marlindo in the Junior Traveling League. Owner Jim Redini, Desk Manager Katie Schreiner (and sometimes her sons) and Cocktail Waitress Rita Hodges looked after us. If we screwed up, Jim Redini would point to the exit and yell OUT! Please enjoy your stay before he kicks you out too!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Billiard Room

This is the mural that was in the cocktail lounge.

Katie Schreiner ran the counter and kept us kids in line. We loved her and called her “Aunt Katie.”

 

 

The guy pointing at you is the owner, Jim Redini. His wife is next to him.

Just for old-time sake, he gave a repeat performance of his famous “OUT!”

 

Kevin Kelly, Jim Redini and Joe Veraldi, Jr. in the black bowling shirt that he wore back in 1966 as a member of the Marlindo Junior Traveling League. I think he dieted for months go fit himself in that shirt. Grrrrr!

Then it’s Jim Redini at the bar and Kevin Kelly to his left.

Aunt Katie and Kevin Kelly

Kevin Kelly, Aunt Katie, Don Ray, Joe Veraldi, Jr.

 

Cocktail Waitress Rita Hodges. I wish I could locate her son, Ronnie Hodges. If you know him, please have him get in touch with Don Ray.

Kevin Kelly, Aunt Rita Hodges and Joe Veraldi, Jr. being literal when they heard the command, “Arms around each other.”

This is what they were supposed to do.

 

Don Ray and Aunt Rita Hodges

I think she was a cocktail waitress.

 

 

The pinsetting machines with Joe Veraldi, Jr., in the distance.

 

 

 

 

The pinsetting machines with Joe Veraldi, Jr., in the foreground.

 

Joe Veraldi with two of the mechanics.

 

Every night, after the late league ended, many bowlers stayed around for the Single Sweeper. If they bowled well, they won some money.

 

This is the line-up of the 1966 Marlindo Junior Traveling League Team.

 

And this is the guy who bought Marlindo and then tore it down. Damn!

 

One last look at a neighborhood landmark.

 

 

9 Responses to “Do you remember Mar-Lin-Do Lanes?”

  1. Jim Schmitt December 13, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Thanks for this blog, Don! There have been several requests for Marlindo shots from members of the “You Know You’re From Burbank if…” Facebook group. Great stuff!!

  2. Robert December 4, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    I presume you are/were a Burbank person. I remember the Mar Lin Do Lanes, having driven past it numerous times in the past, but I never went inside. Didn’t there used to be a Foster’s Old Fashioned Freeze close by? Do you have any recollection of Genio’s Restaurant on Olive. Ave.? I know they closed down, but did they ever re-locate?

    • donraymedia December 4, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      Hey Robert,
      Thanks for posting. Yes, I’m a Burbank kid. For a few years, we lived around the corner from Mar-Lin-Do on Grismer. There was no Foster’s nearby. The closest one was on the corner of Glenoaks and Angeleno. I worked there for several years when I was in high school. I grew up in Genio’s Restaurant at Olive and Verdugo. My mother worked there (Doris) for 35 years. She was first a waitress and then hostess/assistant manager. Unfortunately, they family decided to sell the property and close the business. It broke my heart. The nearest fast-food restaurant was Mr. Big Burgers, just around the bend on San Fernando. It’s gone as well. Damn!

  3. Rowland Harris May 24, 2014 at 12:36 am #

    Don!…I never really knew you, but I remember seeing you often. My name is Rowland Harris…but I think most people in those days knew me by my nickname, Rocky Harris…
    I worked with Katie behind the counter about three days , or rather, evenings a week.
    I worked there while I was in college…starting around ’74…and it went up to about ’79…
    And also a short while in either ’80 or ’81. Tall, slim, blonde hair… I may have a shot or two taken at the counter while I was there…I’ll have to look. In case you didn’t know…
    you can see a great few seconds of Mar-Lin-Do in reruns of The King of Queens. I just happened to see it …though I never really watched the show!… Just luck, when it was on..
    They used it a few times, and I REMEMBER one night as I was working there in the ’70’s…a couple of film people shooting it from across the street… At the time I figured it was probably something as a school project for someone…or maybe to be used in a tv show…which it was. You might be able to contact the people who produced that show and see if you can find out which episodes it was used in… It was used as the place where the cousin’s girlfriend worked….if that helps.

    I’ve got a lot of nice memories of that place..and was saddened when I visited L.A. back in ’02…to find it had been torn down!…and I saw the apartment building… It made me feel sad.
    Thanks for posting this…
    If you send me an email address…I’ll try to find some shots, if I can…and send them…
    Rowland Harris
    rowland.harris@yahoo.com

    • donraymedia May 24, 2014 at 12:45 am #

      Hey Rocky. I never watched The King of Queens. Were they in production when Mar-Lin-Do was still open? Geez, I’m getting old. I’m eager to learn more. I sent you my email. It’s donray@donray.com
      Thanks for connecting!
      Don Ray

  4. marie mccune January 16, 2015 at 9:51 am #

    One of the neighborhood kids. We used to go daily rain or shine to play pinball in the 70’s.

  5. Jimmy February 15, 2015 at 6:54 am #

    Don’t forget Mae Petersen, who was a cashier there for many years in the 1950s.

  6. Linda Agulia (whitaker) April 14, 2015 at 5:06 pm #

    I go way back with Mar Lin do Lanes….my father, and cousins and aunt and uncle were there all the time in the 50’sand 60’s….a night of drinking and bowling till early morning hrs usually left me and my brother sleeping in a booth either in the resturant or bar…this was the norm for us on Friday nights..I’m sure that’s some form of child neglect now but then it was ok I guess..i spent Saturdays bowling in leagues and sone times even kept score. .when i was old enough…

  7. Michelle June 19, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

    In 1976, I was 6 living next door at the apartments now turned condo at 1620 N San Fernando Blvd. I don’t remember a whole lot except we did spend the bicentennial in the bowling alley. I remember a park nearby, car wash, and my mom worked as a waitress at a truck stop within a long walking distance. Of course Bob’s statue was tremendous to me. We were not in Ca long but I know where I spent the 4th of July 1976.

Leave a Reply

